THE BALM: mary-lou manizer | the famous highlighter❤

Hi dolls😘

Sorry for disappearing, I have been very busy with my new job… but I’m back with another review. As you can see by the title, it’s about the famous highlighter by THE BALM , the mary-lou manizer😍 This highlighter has been a hype for quite a while now, everybody is talking about it or has it in their stash.

Everyone has been talking about this highlighter. The reason that I didn’t want to buy it at first was because of the fact that women of colour were saying that the highlighter came of ashy and too light. The words ashy and too light are an absolute no-go for me….. so I decided to let this hype slide. But then one day, my friend’s highlighter was so poppin’ so I asked her what highlighter she was wearing and she said “mary-lou manizer” …. I was shocked. My friend has a darker skin colour also and it didn’t seem ashy at all. I had a gift voucher from douglas so I didn’t wait any longer and ordered this beauty for 21,95.

The packaging

So the packaging is cute. It’s a little plastic container, yes, plastic… but it still doesn’t feel cheap at all. I hate it when packagings feel or look cheap, that isn’t the case at all with this one. If you see the first picture, you see that it is designed after the famous design from THE BALM. The girl, I’m guessing her name is mary-lou, is on the front along with the name etc. The back of the packaging is just silver and it has all the ingredients on it. The inside of the container is where the magic happens. It actually has a mirror, I love it when highlighter have mirrors in them, very handy and practical.


Swatch party 

I will show you some swatches, please let me know in the comment bar below if you think the colour is too ashy on me, I would love to hear your opinion. 

The formula is very pleasant. It’s very powdery and dry, but it doesn’t have much fall out and that’s a big plus. It is very pigmented so you have to be carefull while putting it on, I use my fanbrush with this highlighter. I do mix it with a warmer colour sometimes because this highlighter is a bit on the cooler side and sometimes I just like and warm toned glow. In the picture below I’m wearing the Mary-lou manizer without mixing, I really like it.

Pros

  • Very pigmented
  • Easy to get/order
  • Includes a mirror
  • Longlasting
  • BLINDING

Cons

  • Not suitable for deep dark skin tones 
  • 21,95€, can’t decide if it’s a budgetproof product or a high-end one 


I really like this highlighter and I understand why it is so popular that this moment. Certainly worth the hype, what do you think? Comment below and I’ll see you in my next one ❤



2 gedachten over “THE BALM: mary-lou manizer | the famous highlighter❤

Plaats een reactie